Sessions Focused on Equity, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) - Awards

ALA’s Office for Diversity, Literacy and Outreach Services (ODLOS) curated this list for conference attendees who may be interested in sessions targeting equity, diversity and inclusion (EDI). The sessions are grouped by session type with definitions to guide attendees through the selections. Please note that this information was curated by ODLOS specifically, there may be some flexibility in each session’s categorization and/or level of understanding. 

Awards are sessions where an award or other recognition will be presented.


Jean E. Coleman Library Outreach Lecture
Type: Program/Awards
June 22, 2 p.m. - 3 p.m.
The Jean E. Coleman lecture series honors Dr. Jean E. Coleman, the first director of the ALA Office for Literacy and Outreach Services (now the Office for Diversity, Literacy and Outreach Services) for her leadership in focusing the associations attention on issues affecting traditionally underserved and underrepresented people in libraries. This year's invited lecturer is Satia Marshall Orange, former director of the Office for Literacy and Outreach Services (OLOS). Under Orange’s leadership, OLOS broadened the association's support of traditionally underserved library staff and library communities, developed new ALA member, units and developed new events and celebrations.

The Coretta Scott King Book Awards Breakfast
Type: Awards
June 23, 7 a.m. - 9:30 a.m.
The Coretta Scott King Book Awards Breakfast celebrates the Winner and Honor recipients during ALA's Annual Conference. Join some of the leading authors and illustrators of quality children's books depicting the African American experience. 2019 marks the 50th anniversary of the Coretta Scott King Book Awards. This award has made a name for itself within the library and literary communities.

Stonewall Book Awards Program
Type: Awards
June 24, 1 p.m. - 3 p.m.
The first and most enduring award for LGBTQ books is the Stonewall Book Awards, sponsored by the American Library Association's Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Round Table. Since Isabel Miller's Patience and Sarah received the first award in 1971, many other books have been honored for exceptional merit relating to the gay/lesbian/bisexual/transgender experience. Come and hear from this year's winners. High attendance event, so please come early!

The award ceremony also includes recognition for our other awards: The Larry Romans Mentorship Award and The Newlen-Symons Award for Excellence in Serving the GLBT Community.