Join the celebrations throughout the conference.


Michael L. Printz Program

The Michael L. Printz Award, given by the Young Adult Library Services Association each year to the best book written for young adults takes place at ALA Annual. Come to hear the award winner, and honor book authors who will speak about their writing. After the winner’s speech, they will participate in a panel discussion with the honor authors. This award is administered in partnership with Booklist magazine.

Margaret A. Edwards Brunch

Join us for brunch and hear the winner of the 2019 Margaret A. Edwards Award discuss their writing. The award will honor their significant and lasting contribution to writing for teens. The annual award is administered by YALSA and sponsored by School Library Journal magazine.

Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction Ceremony and Reception

In its eighth year, the Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction are celebrated at ALA’s Annual Conference. Hand-picked by our expert selection committee of librarians, independent booksellers and editors that work closely with adult readers, these books have made a lasting impression. These awards are co-sponsored by Booklist and RUSA and supported by a grant from Carnegie Corporation of New York. This year’s event is sponsored by NoveList.

2019 ALSC Awards Presentation

Celebrate the best in children's literature at the annual presentation of the Batchelder, Geisel, and Sibert awards! Join us at 8:00am for a continental breakfast and a chance to mingle with your favorite authors and illustrators. The awards presentation will promptly start at 8:30am and is open to all registered attendees.

Coretta Scott King Book Awards Breakfast

The Coretta Scott King Book Awards Breakfast celebrates the winner and honor recipients during ALA's Annual Conference. Join some of the leading authors and illustrators of quality children's books depicting the African-American Experience.

2019 Newbery-Caldecott Legacy Banquet

Join us for this gala occasion celebrating Newbery, Caldecott and Wilder medalists and honorees, authors and illustrators of the year's most distinguished books for children! Cocktails (cash bar)available prior to dinner; Doors open at 6:30 p.m. Tickets will be sold at the door and a limited number of tickets will be available at onsite registration until noon Friday. Pre-registration is required. $94 - individual tickets (non-assigned seating). Reserved table seating (ten seats) available. Table reservations must be made directly with the ALSC office. 

2019 Odyssey Award Ceremony

Celebrate the spoken word at the 2019 Odyssey Award Presentation featuring clips from the 2019 winners. The Odyssey Award is presented annually to the best audiobook production for youth and co-administered by YALSA and ALSC and is sponsored by Booklist magazine.

2019 Pura Belpré Award Celebración

Join ALSC and REFORMA in celebrating the 2019 Pura Belpré Medal winners and honorees as they receive their awards and deliver their acceptance speeches. The Celebración is a free, joyful event featuring acceptance speeches by winners and honorees, musical performances and book signing.

PR Xchange Awards

This is a national competition for the best library promotional materials in print and electronic formats from the past year. Solicitation of submissions and judging takes place throughout the year. Entries are appraised by a jury of marketing professionals on the quality of content, format, design, creativity, and originality. Winning projects are displayed at the PR Xchange Event, and certificates are distributed at the Awards Ceremony.

John Cotton Dana Awards & Reception

Considered among the most prestigious awards by the American Library Association, the John Cotton Dana Award, provided in conjunction with the H.W. Wilson Foundation, the American Library Association and EBSCO, honors outstanding library public relations, whether a summer reading program, a year-long centennial celebration, fundraising for a new college library, an awareness campaign or an innovative partnership in the community.

In recognition of their achievement, John Cotton Dana award winners receive a cash award from the H.W. Wilson Foundation.